Fermenting lager in cold basement?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

klinus

Reaction score
Hi all!

Im kind of new to this, only been doing a bunch of small 5 liter batches, and that's basically what I can fit in my small apartment.
But a week ago, I checked the temperature in the basement of my building (where I have a small storage space) and every time I've checked it, it's been between 12C (54F) and 14C (57F). So, i thought that it would be perfect for doing a bigger batch of lager and ferment it there!

I've been looking at recipes for different lagers (I don't need anything too complicated, Im still a noob) and theres a lot of different fermenting and storing times, (some say 3-6 months?). My question is, how long should it be in lager fermenting temperature before it's ready to drink?

Since I can't control the temperature, I suspect that in a couple of months or so, the spring will be here and it will probably get warmer. Is there some beer I can brew that like it cold, but wont fail completely if it rises up towards regular ale temperatures?

I found a 30 liter (8 gallon) glas fermenter that I thought I could use, if not, I'll probably do it in 10 liter (~3gal) plastic buckets.

In the same boat.

I lagered my pilsner last week in my cellar (pretty solid 10C), will give it 6 weeks I think then bottle it.

Since I can't control the temperature, I suspect that in a couple of months or so, the spring will be here and it will probably get warmer. Is there some beer I can brew that like it cold, but wont fail completely if it rises up towards regular ale temperatures?