Fermentation Temperature in Florida

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gishua

Reaction score
Hey all!
Thanks for all your help thus far. I have successfully brewed a few beers and a a few have come out off-tasting. Since there are about an infinity of off-flavors and I'm still new to brewing, I'm not sure what it's being caused by. I was wondering if someone out there could help me narrow down my issue.

I live in Florida so we have hi-temps outside most of the year. I believe the off-flavors are due to the fermentation temps, but wanted to give you a run down on which beers have turned out ok and which have not and maybe you can give me a good resolution.

Brown Ales
Use S-04 yeast (dry), ferment for 2-4 weeks and they come out off-tasting. I wouldn't say sour but maybe fruity. Not like it's horrible but not good either.
Extract Recipes: Northern Brewer Caribou Slobber, Northern Brewer SS Minnow.
Temperature in house is around 78 during the day and 74 at night.

Dark Brown Ale
I did a partial mashes with Wyeast Thames Valley and S-05 and they turned out pretty good. I'm still new to brewing so they aren't AWESOME beers, but for me they were pretty good.
Recipe: Partial mash with darker ales than the above. Not sure how to classify the darker brown ale.
Temperature is about the same

Extract Pumpkin Ale
S-05 and turned out pretty good
Recipe: Midwest Supplies Pumpkin Extract
Temperature the same

Anyhow...I think it may be a combination of the yeast and my home temperature. Although the WYEAST temps say it needs to be lower than what I have, so that is what is throwing me off.

I'm using 6 gal buckets so if I need to cool them down what's the best way if this is the reason for the weird tastes.

Thanks and sorry for being long winded.
Cheers!
Josh