Fermentation Question - Slow to Start, Taking longer Than Expected

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

buildingmotive

Reaction score
I'm new to brewing and have started with all grain brewing. On my third brew I did an American Wheat from Northern Brewer. My computer crashed so I don't have the exact OG, but it was around the target of 1.045.

It took over three days before I noticed any active fermentation. Once it took off, it took off like crazy.

The NB recipe calls for one week primary and one week secondary. From reading on here I decided to skip the secondary and just leave it in the primary for two weeks. After two weeks there is still a thick layer of krausen, and the airlock is still bubbling. I assumed everything would drop to the bottom.

So...is this normal? Thanks in advance for the help.

20130924_115238.jpg

That is very normal if you are getting a lot of activity from yeast. I would let it go 21 - 28 days, and let all of that drop out. You are fine to leave it longer, many people leave their beers in primary for 3 - 4 weeks.

Agree with jflongo, leave it another week or two. The yeast don't care what the instructions say, they work on their time and no one else's. Once the krausen falls, wait 4 or 5 days and take a gravity reading. Then wait a few more days and take another gravity reading. If they are the same at that point, bottle it up.

Okay, thanks a lot for all the help. There looked like there was some pretty big bubbles so I got a little worried that some wild yeast took over, since it took a while to take off originally.

I'll let it sit another week or two and see what happens.

Thanks again for all the help.