Fermentation Drive for High Gravity Lager - Doppelbock

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Noob_Brewer

Reaction score
So, Im still new to brewing lagers as I've only brewed two others before (czech dark) with Imperial Urkel, but now Im fermenting a Doppelbock using a new (to me) yeast strain, WLP833 German Bock Lager. I'm currently only at day 3 of fermentation at 50F, but Im curious as to two things:

1) when do ya'll start increasing temps for the D-rest, and
2) how fast do you increase the temps to d-rest. Ive read plenty here and on other sites and opinions seem to vary wildly from "let it ride at 50-52 for two weeks" to "start increasing temps by 1 degree per day at around day 4 when fermentation starts to slow".

For more information: my OG was 1.093 and expected FG is 1.024 - 69 total point drop to FG. I used brewers friend for yeast count and based on a 2.0M cells/ml/P pitch rate, I needed ~920B cells. So I started with three packs of fresh WLP833, ran a 3.25L starter and then crashed to decant and stepped it up once with another 3.25L starter to get me there. It was a HUGE starter and by my estimation the lag phase was only about ~10-12hrs (it started while I was asleep). Oxygenated well at pitching as well. So I think I got a solid batch of healthy yeast.

As of right now, by my tilt readings (I know absolute values aren't perfect but its a data point that I use) are 1.063 (a little over 3 days post pitch) so Im 30 points down from OG. I've noticed the krausen falling today, but airlock activity is still consistently galloping along.