Female Club Leadership and Misogyny Problems

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

feralparakeet

Reaction score
Hi! I'm feralparakeet. I'm an officer in our local homebrew club (for the second year now, in a different position than the first year), and I'm a woman. I'd like to share my story here (one of the parties to this post is an active redditor on /r/homebrewing, so I'm avoiding that forum for now), and I apologize for the length of it all.

Now, it hasn't been an easy ride for me. I was first asked to be an officer (probably as a de-facto thing where I wasn't actually expected to do anything or be a part of decision-making) by a former president who was voted out during the same election when I was brought in, and whom has since gained a reputation for planning events, being unprepared, and taking his failures out on others. He recently referred to other club members, before they showed up to judge a competition without any benefit of training, as "morons".

I was asked to be the individual in charge of competitions for a large club that hadn't had a competition in some years. No problem, I said, I can organize it and get awards etc together - and I did, both last year and again this year. Even with past-president starting a competing competition a month before our club's, we had double the entries this year.