experimental All Grain

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Maxham51

Reaction score
This is my idea for an all grain GF and would appreciate any advice you might give as I am pretty new to home brewing
This is for a 1 1/2 gallon batch as some of the ingredients are pretty expensive I prefer to do this as a micro brew. I am using BIAB method so rice hulls are not really needed.

4.5 lbs millet malt
.25 crystal millet
.25 quinoa malt
.25 toasted buckwheat gelintinized
.25 toasted oat flakes gelintinized
1 lb Medium Chestnut chips pre done 24 hours at 122 added to Wort at flameout
2.5 oz maltodextros last 10 min of boil
1/4 tsp whirlfloc last 10 min of boil
.2 oz Centinnal @ 60 min
.2 oz casscade @ 15 min
.5 oz casscade @ flame out
Yeast Safale S-05 or your choice, adjust fermenting temp if using something else
Estimated IBU 32
1.5 gallons boil off and grain absorbtion
Prepare Chestnut chips with 1 gallon water at 122 for 24 hours then boil down to 1/2 gallons then cool decotion in fridge
gelentinize Buckwheat and Oat flakes @ 140 with 1.75 gallons of water for 1 hour before adding to mesh
Wort heat to 170 degrees and add to grains in tun 60 miniutes then test with Iodine (I think the millet malt has enough diostatic power to convert the grains but this is my first time using it so not really sure)
If Iodine tests positive then test temperature and remove 1 quart, heat enough so when added back to wort you get 155 degrees and rest another hour
Test again and repeat if neccessary.
Sparge with 3 quarts @ 170 for 10 minutes
Do 60 miniutes boil adding hops, whirlflock and Maltodex to schedual
at end of boil add cold chestnut decotion and cool then add to fermentor
airate and add yeast
fermints at 60 for 3 days then increse to 65 for 4 days