Elementary Yeast Starter Question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tobywan19

Reaction score
I’m new to yeast starters so any insight is appreciated.

So plugging in the info to BeerSmith I get following info for my starter:

1.7 l starter size
1 packet of liquid yeast
112 grams (3.95 oz) or DME
1/4 teaspoon of nutrient

Boil for 15 mins, cool to 80*, pitch yeast and park on the stir plate for 2-3 days.

When I do this, due to boil off over 15mins I end up w much less than 1.7l of starter.

Is BeerSmith calculating this loss? Do I have the right size starter (it boiled down to about 1l)?

Am I obsessing over a minute detail?

Couple things...
Don't worry this time, but that seems like a lot to boil off in 15 minutes. Is the one liter after cooling the starter as you will lose some to evaporation and shrinkage. I stopped doing 15 minute boils for starters about 4 years ago, I only boil for 5 minutes. Never had an issue.

What was the OG of the beer you are making? Using http://www.yeastcalculator.com/ DME calculator, a 1.7 liter starter with 112 grams of DME only has a gravity of 1.024. Unless you are making a low ABV beer, that's a low OG for a starter, I usually shoot betwenn 1.035-1.042 for my starters.

And remember "Relax. Don't Worry. And Have a Homebrew."

I was going to mention that boil off rate as well. You'll also need to know the age of your yeast to plug into the calculator linked above. That makes a big difference in your starting yeast count/viability.

The fact that you are doing a starter of any kind is great, so as mentioned, don't worry too much about this one. Just live and learn.

There are two approaches:
1) Let starter run it's course, chill and decant pitching only the yeast (not the rest of the wort)