Electric HLT idea. Looking for feedback.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jiggs_casey

Reaction score
I am an electricity noob. Or, at least I think I am. With that, I have installed a heating element (2000W / 120V) into my HLT. I want to make sure that my understanding is solid before I finish wiring it up.

As I understand it, this element is rated at 16.6 amp. That means that all of the wiring to that element MUST support at LEAST 16.6 amp? (17 to make it easy).

Now, when I am staring at my fusebox, I see different fuses of different 'sizes'. I was able to trace out one of the 20A fuses to my kitchen. That leads me to believe that I can use those outlets.

Now that I have said it, I guess it makes sense to me. My 'noobness' means that I am going to question absolutely everything about it. Should I be concerned that maybe the wiring between the fusebox and the outlets in the kitchen won't handle the load?

I am planning on using a properly rated, heavy duty extension cord from the kitchen to a 'control box' mounted on my brewstand. This box will have an on/off switch and a GFCI outlet mounted in it. The GFCI outlet is where I am plan on plugging the element into.

The wiring to your kitchen outlets should be OK. But, be careful. You probably should check that nothing else is plugged into those outlets at the same time. Things like a refrigerator or a microwave could blow the fuse if they were started while you were heating.

Are you the original homeowner? If so and you've never swapped a 15A for 20A fuse then you're probably alright. If you're not the original owner, to be absolutely sure you'd need to check the gauge of the wire coming into the fuse panel for the fuse.