Dry yeast to liquid yeast cross-over

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mtcowboy77

Reaction score
Since I'm just beginning to get into brewing I will probably be using a couple of ingredient kits to begin with. I've already brewed one and had a great time. I noticed, though, that they all seem to come with dry yeast packets. After doing some snooping on the forum here, I see that a number of people suggest replacing the dry yeast with a liquid yeast for a potentially better beer result. I've also seen on some websites that you can substitute a liquid yeast for the dry yeast and they will choose which one would work best. What I'm wondering though is how I can tell which liquid yeast would give the same results ideally looked for with the supplied dry yeast packet? Is there some kind of a chart that would show which dry yeasts cross over to which liquid yeasts?

There are many classic yeast strains to use with a variety of beer styles. It's not a "type A yeast ALWAYS goes with type Z beer...etc" but there are some yeasts that work better with a specific type of beer than others. They, the yeast, usually have the name of the style of beer that they pair with. Some do not. Websites, like wyeast, will give you the information on the yeast AND they also tell you what some popular styles are that go with that particular yeast. There are also charts out there that let you know which yeasts you can swap for other yeasts. It's just a matter taking some time and investigating the matter.