Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Melite

Reaction score
Im new to this.

After 3 weeks i didnt saw any more arilock activity on my strawberry mead (for 2-3 days) so i decided to rack my mead.

I did a little taste test and it just taste flat... it doesn't have a special flavor... Its like, water with a little of honey that burns a little...

Any advice? i will let it sit for 2-3 more weeks before back sweeten it or is it not a good idea?

i dont know what ABV i have because i don't have an hydrometer, but it's probably above 10%

Any advice?

You're not going to like it.

It sounds like your mead is well on its way to being an excellent beverage, but mead takes time. Not 2-3 weeks, maybe not even 2-3 months. In 6, 9, 12+ months your mead will mellow and transform. The heat will back off. The honey will come forward.

Maybe it does need some backsweetening. Maybe a bit of oak tannin. Maybe a touch of acid. But what will help is time.

You're not going to like it.

It sounds like your mead is well on its way to being an excellent beverage, but mead takes time. Not 2-3 weeks, maybe not even 2-3 months. In 6, 9, 12+ months your mead will mellow and transform. The heat will back off. The honey will come forward.

Maybe it does need some backsweetening. Maybe a bit of oak tannin. Maybe a touch of acid. But what will help is time.
i rack it because i didnt see any activity and wanted to get rid of the strawberry leftovers. How long should i wait before bottle it?

It's pretty subjective. Waiting until it's crystal clear is my minimum.