Diacetyl rest for dry stout?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
On Saturday I made a dry stout from Jamil Zainasheff's "Cerveza de Malto Seca" recipe in Brewing Classic Styles. I'm fermenting in my chest freezer with an ambient temperature range of 62-65°F per JZ's instruction to ferment at 65°F.

My question is, JZ recommends a diacetyl rest at 71°F for the final third of fermentation. I've never brewed a lager so I have never done a diacetyl rest before, and this is the first time I've seen an ale recipe call for one. Is it even necessary at these temperatures?

My thought is to just unplug the freezer when fermentation starts to slow down and let the temperature gradually get back up to room temperature. I usually only keep the freezer going for the 7-10 days of fermentation anyway, so I'd just be doing my usual process ... just a few days early.

If a diacetyl rest is really recommended for this style, is this all I need to do? Or am I missing something?

Thanks.

Even though 1084 is an ale yeast, it throws off alot of diacetyl. So if you do a diacetyl rest, it will result in a cleaner beer. A 10 degree temp raise is about right.

So either take a SG reading and start the rest then, or wait until the bubbles slow and start it.