Couple of mashing questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

neumann

Reaction score
I've been brewing all grain now for a few months and I've got a few questions.
1. My cooler seems to lose a few degrees (2 or 3) during a 60 minute mash. Do you guys mash in a few degrees higher to finish at the target temp or do you start at your target and finish lower? Or, do you split the difference?

2. How often should I be stirring during a 60 minute mash? I just been stirring when I mash in and each time I add my water batches. Am I losing efficiency by not stirring more?

3. I use a stainless steal braid from a toilet supply line with nothing in it. Would I get better efficiency with something in the line to hold it open or with a copper or CPVC manifold?

Thanks for all the help you guys have provided over the past few months.

I've been brewing all grain now for a few months and I've got a few questions.
1. My cooler seems to lose a few degrees (2 or 3) during a 60 minute mash. Do you guys mash in a few degrees higher to finish at the target temp or do you start at your target and finish lower? Or, do you split the difference?

2. How often should I be stirring during a 60 minute mash? I just been stirring when I mash in and each time I add my water batches. Am I losing efficiency by not stirring more?

3. I use a stainless steal braid from a toilet supply line with nothing in it. Would I get better efficiency with something in the line to hold it open or with a copper or CPVC manifold?

Thanks for all the help you guys have provided over the past few months.