Corny Keg as Unitank (Autolysis?)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pehlman17

Reaction score
I'm curious as to whether anyone is successfully fermenting, carbonating, and serving from a single vessel without the ability to dump yeast. I've been fermenting in corny kegs for a couple years now and like it very much. I recently picked up a Clear Beer Draught System (floating dip tube), and used it in my primary fermenter but still transferred to a separate serving keg. It got me wondering if anyone has had any luck with leaving the beer in primary from start to finish. I've been wanting to play with spunding a bit as well. I don't do pressurized fermentations (yet) but I do tend to seal the keg with a couple gravity points left before cold crashing. I only brew about 3-4 gallons per batch and typically drink/share the entire batch within 6-8 weeks of brew day. Is that short enough to avoid any noticeable autolysis issues?

I have done this with the last 10 batches or so, I do notice that beers tend to get worse, probably related to autolysis, after about 2 months in the keg. Fermenting under pressure seems to accelerate the degrading flavor quicker than when not fermented under pressure. I don't use floating dip tubes, I just cut an inch off the dip tube so you may not notice as much until you get to the bottom of a keg?

I don't use floating dip tubes, I just cut an inch off the dip tube so you may not notice as much until you get to the bottom of a keg?
I was doing the cut dip tube thing for a while but decided to switch to the floating dip tube. I do wonder if that could make a difference. I would be curious as to whether drawing from closer to the yeast cake vs the top of the beer would affect the lifespan of the beer.