Cider newb - Cripin Brut"ish" recipe for my wife

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dustin_J

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

Does anybody have some thoughts on a basic recipe/approach for making something like Crispin Brut? My wife is a big fan, and I'd like to make something for her that is similar. A direct clone isn't the goal here, just something in that vein. We've tried a number of ciders together, and it's pretty clear that she likes them dry, with a nice clean/crisp apple flavor, and not so much of the barnyard/funk that one tends to get in Continental (French especially, Spanish to a bit lesser extent) ciders.

FWIW, I've never made cider, but I have plenty of experience with beer and the requisite equipment, cleaning/sanitation necessities, etc.

Last edited:
You can make a very basic, but good dry, cider with nothing but one gal apple juice and some ale yeast. I use Nottingham. Just let it ferment to dry and it will be about 5.5%ABV. At first it will not have a lot of apple taste. But if you let it age for 3-4 months the apple will "come back." Some age theirs as long as a year I think.

You can make a very basic, but good dry, cider with nothing but one gal apple juice and some ale yeast. I use Nottingham. Just let it ferment to dry and it will be about 5.5%ABV. At first it will not have a lot of apple taste. But if you let it age for 3-4 months the apple will "come back." Some age theirs as long as a year I think.