Cider Help!!!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm fairly new to home brewing (3 5gallon brews deep) and I want a cider for St Patty's day. One of my buddy's said all I need is the following:

5gallons apple juice
1lb dextrose
1 Safale s-04 yeast
2tsp of yeast nutrients

Well he apparently dropped off the face of the earth and I need some help! I have everything ready to go, I just need to know what to do and the times? Do I just throw everything in my fermenter then bottle after a week like a normal brew? I searched around for about an hour and couldn't find an exact answer. Thanks and happy brewing!

To keep things clean you can boil some of the juice and toss the dextrose and nutrient in that to sanitize it. To give your yeast the best start rehydrate before pitching. If your juice is already bottled and pasteurized there is no need to boil all the juice.

This is the method I have use for making cider from apple juice.

As for fermentation it's taken a bit longer than a week for a batch like this in my experience. Personally I'd give it two to three weeks to fully finish fermentation before priming and bottling.

Protistman said:
To keep things clean you can boil some of the juice and toss the dextrose and nutrient in that to sanitize it. To give your yeast the best start rehydrate before pitching. If your juice is already bottled and pasteurized there is no need to boil all the juice.

This is the method I have use for making cider from apple juice.

As for fermentation it's taken a bit longer than a week for a batch like this in my experience. Personally I'd give it two to three weeks to fully finish fermentation before priming and bottling.