Carb bubbles out immediatly after pour

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NickL

Reaction score
I'm new to kegging. I have an American Brown(Janets Brown from brewing classic styles) force carbed to 2.1 ish volumes at 49F. Its currently sitting at 13psi.
When I open the tap the whole glass fills with foam and the beer is flat by the time it clears.
I turned off the gas and opened the top to see if it would gush. Doesn't look like an infection. No gush.
Then I added just enough gas to fill a glass through the tap. The carb stays in. Perfect carbonation.
Why is my beer so quick to decarb?

Standard questions:

- what diameter is your beer line
- how long is your beer line
- what is the dispensing pressure
- picnic tap or faucet
- is this the first time you used this keg
- how did you carb the beer (priming sugar, or forced carb pressure/time/etc)
- is the beer line warm

And anything else you can add that might give us a clue...

Cheers!

-3/16 diameter
-about 5 feet long
-13psi despensing pressure
-perlick faucet
-I used the keg once before. Same problem
-I force carbed this at 30 psi over a few days
-the beer line is the same temp as the keg

Also, yes I am pulling on the faucet and not pushing. That would be funny.

I'm new to kegging also, but I'd say you need more beer line. I use 12 feet with 13 PSI at 40 degrees and it seems about right.
A few days at 30 PSI for carbing might be too long. Usually 24 hours does it for me.

So I shook it a bit at 30psi at 68F when I first put it in there because I was impatient. Then left it at 30psi while it cooled to 49F until it got to 2 ish volumes. Then I dropped the pressure to 13psi where I've been serving at.