Bundle of Joy - Sour Project

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

madcowbrewing

Reaction score
First a little background:
I have been brewing for 13 years and started getting pretty serious about it a few years back in 2010. I have brewed almost every style over the years, but always come back to the ones I do very well. This year I have been very successful in competitions and even made my first lagers. I have made some attempts at sours in the past with some mixed results.

In 2006, I made a sour with currants. I fermented out a year then bottled. Alas, I moved to California for work and the movers would not take liquids of the sorts so I entrusted the two cases to my friend at the time so that we could enjoy when I came to visit. A not so bright friend stored them in his garage…..  a garage that topped 100 degrees in the summer and a low of 30’s in the winter. They went bad, so I was told. Oh well.

In 2011 I decided I must try that Jolly Rancher Sour. I had lost a non-supportive wife and gained a super supportive fiancé who loved sours. So off we went to make it. All went smoothly, fermented the base beer for 12 months. Checked on it…..no sourness? Hmmm, what did I do wrong, oh well, let’s add the 4.5 pounds of cherry jolly ranchers…… so we did. Another 12 months it stood, then at the end of 2013, it was time to move back to Oregon, this time I was doing the moving, all beers coming with me. So we bottled it up and , no sour???? It was definitely horse blanket, and funky. Super dry, FG 1.000…. had some wheatiness to it. I thought, let it sit a little longer. So over the last few years, it has started to sour, but not at the rate I want it to….still got 1.5 cases, waiting for the perfect pour.