Brew Challenge For a Newbie

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mustakrakish

Reaction score
Hey all,

I'm new to brewing (about to do my second) but I'm looking for some kind of challenge for my next batch. I know most suggest something easy to learn the basics, but I am the kind of guy who likes to jump in head first and go through a trial by fire, you know push the boundaries and learn from mistakes. I am prepared to tend to it daily, and then to accidentally mess it up beyond recovery, counting any costs as an investment for an experiment. I'm also fairly good at following instructions to a T. So my question is if anyone has a suggestion for a slightly above average complex or effort recipe I could try. I tend to like high abv IPAs or sours, but I'm willing to try anything interesting.

I'm also looking to buy some more equipment. Does anyone have any suggestions on brands or supplies that are often overlooked?

Thanks!
-Jason

Do a Herrmann verfahren mash on a hefeweizen with a single decoction? :) That's the most "fun" mash I do. Fun as in when everything works out as intended, so all moments were according to plan.

Edit: But, if you don't know the difference it would make there's no point actually, if you see it from that angle when it comes to learning.

I'm going to rain on the parade here. Is your first batch finished yet? If so, how did it turn out? I've seen too many new brewers get discouraged after trying to brew something more complicated/involved right off the get go, and they didn't get the results they wanted. I truly understand wanting to jump in with both feet running, but I would work more on getting your process down pat before going off to the races.