Bottle conditioning lagers. How to calculate priming sugar?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jayhem

Reaction score
I've been brewing ales for 3 years but this is my first lager. I will be ready to bottle within the month when it finishes a 6 week lagering period.

I will be bottle priming.

I know that when you use the calculators like the Tastybrew one: http://www.tastybrew.com/calculators/priming.html The amount of priming sugar depends on the temp of fermentation because of residual C02 in solution.

I fermented at 50F but the beer will have been lagering at 34F for 6 weeks. If I plug in 50F and 34F the difference in priming sugar is almost 35%! Which temp do I need to use for the residual CO2 input?

Your going to add sugar after fermentation and Lagering is complete. You can let the bottles sit at or near room temps. I think that ambient room temp should be fine.

Your going to add sugar after fermentation and Lagering is complete. You can let the bottles sit at or near room temps. I think that ambient room temp should be fine.

Right, I am going to bring the beer up to 65F after lagering, to bottle. So if I do that I need to use 65F to plug into the priming calculators?

The last lager I bottled, I lagered at 31F. When I bottled, I brought the temp up to 42F and then bottled. I used 42 as the temp of the beer. Which is pretty much the temp it was when it went into the bottle. It came out fine.
After it was bottled, I let it set in the house on the floor for a couple of weeks. It then went back to the cooler for a couple of weeks, before I drank it.