Boil off/ evaporation/ brew math and baffled

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

duffstuff

Reaction score
Hey guys I am completely confused sonim gonna get straight into it . I brewed a beer this evening and after a 90 min boil I only jumped 10 points on the hydrometer . My equipment has been calibrated and the only variable is that my measure stick may be off.
Heart are some numbers , please help if you can..
Grain bill 11lbs pilsner , 2 lb Munich.
Pre boil gravity was 1.050. Assuming measure stick is accurate it was 7.5 gallons.
I'm new to brewing equation but I thought I had it nailed .
With the information above I calculated 78 % efficiency.
Boiled down to an assumed 5.5 gallons and my OG is reading 1.060 . That was a 90 min boil. I think all the info is there . If anyone can shed some light on where I'm going wrong , that would be great. I hope it's something easy but I just can't see it .
If I am right I should be way higher . 1.080 ish. ?? Is there a possibility I boiled off way less .
Living in humid Korea at the moment if that is another variable.
Anyway thanks in advance for any help anyone can give.
Cheers , duff

Well, for starters, if your pre-boil readings are all correct, that should give you (7.5*50=) 375 gravity points. After boiling, and again assuming that your measurement of 5.5 gallons is correct, that should give you a final gravity of (375/5.5= 68) 1.068, so you're not as far off as you think. If your volume measurements are slightly off, I could see that making up that last 8 points somewhere.