Blueberries en masse

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jivetyrant

Reaction score
I have a beautiful tasting wheat that's just finished primary. I plan to add 11lbs (eleven) of blueberries and am devising a plan to do so. I see a few options, but am a little lost as I've never added this quantity of fruit to any previous batches!

I could cook it down, as you would when making a proper blueberry pie. This would pasteurize it, but would probably necessitate adding some pectic enzyme to stave off excessive cloudiness. (I already have some on-hand)

I could mash and chemically pasteurize it with sulfite or sorbate. I've never done this before, my only experience with this was adding some campden tablets to a carboy before I dropped it off at a cider mill in town. I have heard that the amount needed varies significantly with the pH of the fruit you are using. I do not have a method to accurately determine pH.

I have heard that a hard freeze can take care of most of the offending little critters, but I don't know if that's true, or how long to freeze them for. I have a chest freezer that sits at a comfortable -10F.

Or I could RDWHAHB and simply mash them up and rack on top.

Thoughts and suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

I have a beautiful tasting wheat that's just finished primary. I plan to add 11lbs (eleven) of blueberries and am devising a plan to do so. I see a few options, but am a little lost as I've never added this quantity of fruit to any previous batches!

I could cook it down, as you would when making a proper blueberry pie. This would pasteurize it, but would probably necessitate adding some pectic enzyme to stave off excessive cloudiness. (I already have some on-hand)