BIAB with current equipment

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SCBrewster

Reaction score
I am still a newbie to homebrewing but I am looking to expand into all grain using the brew in a bag system. I have a 30qt stainless steel spot with the strainer bucket used for lobster and crab or whatever. Is this large enough to do 5 gallon batches? I figure if it is all I would really need is a mesh bag to line the strainer

your pot and basket are a good start but honestly will be a little small for full volume BIAB. (Where all the water goes in from the beginning.) This is not a huge issue. You can mash with a lower volume of water and then sparge the remaining volume over your grains and then combine to get your boil volume.

I have a 40Qt pot and it is close mashing with 7.75 gal of water and 12lbs of grain. I have about a half inch of headspace left in my pot with this volume.

I would recommend mashing with something like 5 gal and then sparging the remaining 2.75 gal over the grains after they have been removed. Probably do the sparge in a bucket. Then remove the grains and combine the runnings in the pot. should have no real problems with boil over I would think but you may have to watch it.

Hmm...not really. It's close. You might be able to get away with it if you sparge.

Figure for a five gallon batch, you're going to need around 6 gallons of preboil volume. Grain takes up around a tenth of a gallon per pound and will absorb something in that neighborhood again, which means that even a very modest 10lb mash will put you well above your pot size.

You could probably do a 4 gallon batch.