Better Bottle Fermenter Information - Blowoff tube pics and cleaning info

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kcpup

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I’ve been meaning to do this post for a while. When I started brewing a few years ago, like many I started with a “deluxe starter kit” from my LHBS. It contained a 6.5 gallon glass carboy as the fermenter. Over time, I have converted my brewing to Better Bottles. This post will detail the “why” of the switch, details on how I use a blowoff tube for fermentation, and how I clean them.

I used the glass for a few months on my first batches. I purchased a Brew-Hauler for the glass carboy. It helps for moving it but the thing is so darn heavy when filled with wort. I brew in the kitchen, and most of the year I tote the fermenter to the basement. A few weeks later, I tote it back upstairs to rack for packaging (bottles at first, now kegs).

That upstairs/downstairs thing was a pain, and a risk with the glass carboy. I’m a strong gal, but the ungainly size and weight made me feel I was risking life and limb on those stair climbs. My sweetheart isn’t always here when I need a hand moving fermenters. I wondered if I could find a lightweight fermenter that would allow me to still see what was going on inside the fermenter. I didn’t want to let go of the ability to see inside without having to open the container. I tried a white plastic bucket fermenter ...missed the visuals.

Enter the Better Bottle.

Love them. LOVE them. LOVE THEM! I can carry these and not risk my life or a batch of beer. They are easy to store, because they’re so light they can sit on top of stuff, etc.

Now for the disadvantages: