Benefits of pasteurized extract

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

The_Dog_42

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I'm new to HBT, so if this isn't the correct forum for this question, please let me know.

I was at my LHBS discussing my next step into brewing from a mini-mash to an AG, without spending a lot of money. He told me to skip the AG methods and just pasteurize the extract (with about 2-3 gal of water) in a separate pot and add it to my carboy, instead of just adding in BK before the boil. He also mentioned if he knew of this method, he may have skipped AG all together.

I know the method will kill of any living micro-organisms in my system, and depending on the temperature / length of time I pasteurize, I can prevent any burned sugars. But are there any other benefits to pasteurizing (i.e. preventing oxidation of the wort, etc)?

I'm confused...if you pasteurize your extract with water what are you doing different than a normal extract process?

I'm confused...if you pasteurize your extract with water what are you doing different than a normal extract process?

So the method I was told to use is to start with 2.5 gal and bring it to strike temp (155F for the recipe I was using), mash in my grains for 1 hour. After that's done, I bring it all to a boil and add my hops, then cool and add to the fermenter. In a second pot, I take another 2 gal and bring it to a boil. Kill the heat for about 1 min so the water comes to 180-190 and stir in the extract. Then maintain around 180 for 15 min to pasteurize the extract. Cool and add to the fermenter and top with water to make 5.25 gal.

When I first started using a partial mash process, I was told to add the extract in my boil kettle right before I add in hops.