Beginner Brewer- Critique my Setup

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mmacdon3

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm completely new to home brewing and have decided to take this up as my next hobby! I've been doing tons of research the last couple weeks and have been reading How to Brew by John Palmer. I also am signed up for a beginner brewing class next week at a LHBS. I have been shopping around for the supplies and am attempting to not overspend here more than needed. What do you guys think about this set up or is there better/cheaper options? I plan on doing extract brewing for a while then eventually all grain.

At the LHBS they give you a 20% off coupon after taking the class so I plan on buying some of this stuff at that shop (Brew and Grow) The discount is included in prices below

---Brewers Best Deluxe Beer Brewing Equipment Kit- $103
http://www.brewandgrow.com/brew/equ...s/deluxe-brewers-best-beer-equipment-kit.html

For the kettle I can't decide if I want/need the NPT fittings with thermometer and ball valve additions. What are the advantages of having the valve? I thought aggressively pouring the cooled wort into the fermenter was ideal to aerate it? Here are some options I'm considering.

---Economy Kettle - 9 Gallon w/ 1/2" NPT Fittings- $72
http://www.brewandgrow.com/brew/equipment/brew-kettles/economy-kettle-w-1-2-npt-fittings.html

If I got that I would need this valve.
---Ball Valve 2 Piece 1/2" Stainless Steel- $20
http://www.brewandgrow.com/brew/equ...s/ball-valve-2-piece-1-2-stainless-steel.html

Then I'm hoping I can attach the thermometer that comes in the kit for the other NPT fitting above the valve.

Or...

---Northern brewer tall boy kettle 10gal- $110

For the wort chiller it seemed that eBay was the cheapest option.