Beermergency?!?!?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fightguy

Reaction score
Okay, so here's the back story

fightguy said:
Well, this might have been a stupid idea but today I made a 2.5 gallon batch of lager out of a 5 gallon extract kit. I basically just made it according to the directions but only used half the water. The OG was 1.100!! It’s probably going to taste like a bucket of turkey rectums, but I’ll at least give it a try.

Do you guys think I need to do anything different when bottling/carbonating it? I don’t want my bottles to explode on me.

I apologize up front for my ignorance, as I am extremely new to brewing and really don’t have a clue what I am doing. All I know is that I really enjoy strong beers.

If this batch turns out okay I’m going to go ahead and try to make the Double IPA the same way, except I am going to add a substantial amount of hops to the recipe.

Here's the problem: I am making this 2.5 gallon batch in a Mr Beer keg and now my beer is producing so much CO2 that it is shooting foam out of the notched lid!! Is this going to ruin my beer or is the mess going to be my biggest concern? Is there anything I can do at this point? I have a larger fermenter with an airlock but transferring it now would be a recipe for disaster, I think. Any suggestions or consolation would be greatly appreciated!

Right now the mess is your biggest problem. As long as the airlock does not get clogged you're fine. Next time use the bigger fermenter.

The Mr Beer kegs don't have an "airlock" per se, but they have a notched lid that allows for some ventilation. The foam itself is very thick and I can't really tell what all it is composed of. I'm praying that the yeast is staying in the beer