Basic Brewer's Pantry?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

okstatepike

Reaction score
I'm just starting out, but I find myself always forgetting something small or not planning ahead for brew day. For example, wanted to make a starter a day ahead of time for my last brew, but i did not have any extra DME on hand for it. I know that will change as the process becomes more ingrained to me, but that's just the way it is.

So here is the question. From an ingredient point of view, what should be in my brewer's pantry? What should I buy and always have on hand?

As far as ingredients go, since you are just starting out, I would limit what I keep on hand. Some things you may consider are:

1. Some Light DME, maybe 3 or so pounds.
2. Some dry yeast packets, in case your yeast doesn't do it's job.
3. Corn Sugar. Most recipes call for 5 oz., so I usually have 10 in my Beer drawer.
4. Spring water, maybe 3 gallons.
5. These are not "ingredients" per se, but essential. A bottle of Starsan sanitizer, a container of PBW or regular style Oxiclean, and some Irish Moss. I buy Super Irish Moss, made by 5 Star Chemicals, because it seems to do a better job than the plain Jane type.

Always have a few packs of reliable dry yeast on hand. I'd say always have some extra hops around.

:tank:

As far as ingredients go, since you are just starting out, I would limit what I keep on hand. Some things you may consider are:

1. Some Light DME, maybe 3 or so pounds.
2. Some dry yeast packets, in case your yeast doesn't do it's job.
3. Corn Sugar. Most recipes call for 5 oz., so I usually have 10 in my Beer drawer.
4. Spring water, maybe 3 gallons.