Back To Basics

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pehlman17

Reaction score
I’m curious to know if anyone else has experienced this… I’ve been brewing for about the last three years on an Anvil Foundry. I’ve got the pump so I can both recirculate the mash as well as recirculate to whirlpool or while chilling. But for some reason lately I’ve been feeling less inclined to brew on it, and have been strangely feeling nostalgic about the old days of mashing in a 10 gallon Home Depot cooler with a manifold I built myself based out of John Palmer’s ‘How to Brew’. Vorlaufing with a large pitcher, and heating sparge water on the stove. That sort of stuff. Even though it’s more time and labor intensive in some ways, I’m sort of missing the hands-on “lo-fi” brew days of old.

Is there anyone else who’s gone away from the high tech gear and back to the old school basic setup? Just curious.

Cheers!

Can’t say I have and maybe that’s apartment life and age that are the determining factor.

I like taking out my Anvil 10.5 AIO plugging it in and dumping in my 8 gallons of water and then crushing my grains.

I guess I just feel less stressed. I do have a pump and whirlpool arm and all the rest of the fixings, but I find my brew days are less stressful and my beer tastes just as good.

Maybe I’m an outlier but this is just my opinion.

I've avoided those "Cadillac Systems"(TM) for that reason. Dialing in my process and recipes is half the fun, and the other half is making additions and tweaks to my system. The added bonus to this is that when I die years from now from liver failure, my kids will be scratching their heads at the Rube Goldberg machine I spent a lifetime building.