At a brewing crossroads

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Grannyknot

Reaction score
A bit of a rant, but also looking for advice on where to go from here.

I've been brewing for about 6 years now. Probably have about 75 brew days logged. I've only dumped 1 beer that was actually drinkable, but had some fusels that I just couldn't get past. Some beers have been good, some not so good. Occasionally I make a good beer that people compliment. I have a decent amount of equipment, including a nice large kettle, big burner, 10gal mash tun, pump, & nice plate chiller. Have a really nice fridge with 3 taps.

But I'm just not happy. I can't get any real consistency, my ipas frequently lack aroma & hop character and taste rather plain. Darker beers frequently have overly roasty flavors, although I sometimes get it right. I've done the water report thing. Read all sorts of books. Changed my procedures 1 step at a time. Took notes. I'm obviously overly critical of my own beers, but I'm just not crazy about what I'm producing.

Here's the thing....I started brewing for the wrong reason. I brewed, partly because it was interesting at first, but also because it made craft beer cheap. Hard to believe, but I have actually saved money. So, I've saved money, but at the cost of quality. I just can't seem to get anywhere near the quality of production beer. Obviously I don't expect to be reproducing a pliney clone every brew day, but at least some consistency with something I consider "good".