Antique Clothes Washer Wringer --> Grain Mill?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

billr1

Reaction score
My wife & I have been brewing for about 5 or 6 months now and have found lots of info and answers on this forum. But it's finally time to post because I'm not seeing this question/idea addressed anywhere.
I have access to an old antique washing machine - the kind with the roller/wringer thing on top. I'll include a link to a pic of the same model which someone has for sale on Etsy below (and I don't think they have a chance in hell of getting the $445 their asking for it!)
Anyway, every time I walk by this thing I start eyeing up those rollers and wondering if it would be possible to tear it apart and re-purpose the wringer part as a grain crusher. I'm just curious if anybody has ever attempted a similar project? Wondering if it can be done.

http://www.etsy.com/listing/152191325/vintage-maytag-wringer-washer-model-e2ls?utm_source=google&utm_medium=product_listing_promoted&utm_campaign=vintage_high&gclid=CJ7xttrL5rgCFYhAMgodEQIA2w

My grandma had one of these. The rollers were made of wood, so I'm thinking that it wouldn't be very good to mill grain with.

That would be awesome if it worked. And turn the basin into a mashtun too.