Another first timer needs your advice....

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bolepa

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Hi everyone,
Yes, this is my first time I am making mead and I am asking for you advice: it's better to ask now then be sorry later... Yes, I watched lot of YouTube videos, read lot of articles, went through bunch of posts on this forum which helped me a lot. I wasn't familiar with mead making terminology nor with abbreviations Now I know a bit but just a bit...
So, here is my plan:
HOENY: I will be using Orange Blossom honey to make mead in two 3-gallons carboys by adding 3 pounds of honey to each of them. I would like to produce semi-sweet mead. Please let me know if three pounds of mead will be enough to make semi-sweet product.
YEAST: I have Lalvin ICV-D47 Wine Yeast and Red Star Premier Classique Yeast. I will be using one packet (5 Gram) of each of them per 3 gallon carboy and see the difference between them. My goal is to achieve 12% ABV but I don't mind if it goes up to 15%... :)
YEAST NUTRIENT: North Mountain. Will be adding 3 tsp to each carboy on day one, day four and day seven. Please correct me if I am missing anything in this schedule. I am not sure I understood how to use the calculator so do rely on your help.
YEAST ENERGIZER: LD Carlson. Will be adding 1.5 tsp to each carboy on day one but I am not sure about schedule... at all.
Now - the procedure:
1. To sanitize both carboys and all the parts which will be touching honey and water.