Advice on Grainfather?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rinhaak

Reaction score
I've been brewing for about 8 years. Been doing gas stove top brewing the entire time and having excellent results. Just bought my first house, and my new kitchen won't have a gas stove (and I refuse to do brewing on an electric stove!). Though I want to convert my kitchen to gas eventually, that won't happen for a few years.

So, I've got two real options: I could buy a propane tank and maintain my same setup but shift the enterprise from the kitchen to the garage (which will be great except in winter – #RhodeIsland), or I buy an electric brew system.

I've been leaning towards buying a Grainfather: I've read how awesome it is for rookie brewers. How does it stack up for experienced brewers? Is this what you've always wanted? Does it improve your brew? Brewday?

Would love some real suggestions before I dump $1k on this!

So you don't want to brew on an electric stove, but you want an electric kettle? o_O

Just kidding, I've been looking at getting one myself although I'm far from what I would call an experienced brewer. I've read hundreds of reviews each on the GrainFather and the Robobrew. Aside from some quirks with each system, overall people seem incredible happy with both. I'm sure the main complaint you've come across is when you want to make a big brew or something heavily hopped. It seems like that's when most brewers start to bump up against the size limitations.

That and the fact only has a 1500watt element so it takes a bit to get up to a boil. Check out David Heaths Youtube Channel for some mod's etc. Best of luck with whichever way you decide.