1st ever kit

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

grasshopper1917

Reaction score
Ok I've been doing canned 'kit and kilo' kits for the past 4 years but my brew store has some new boxed extract kits. It came with 6lbs of malt extract 1lbs of liquid glucose - boiling hops, finishing hops, bag of specialty grain, grain bag ohhh and yeast.

I only have an 8 quart pot (8 liters) will i still be able to make the beer??? I was planning on adding 3LBS of malt and boil in the boiling hops then in the last 10 mins add the last 3 lbs of malt and the finishing hops.

then into the fermentor and top up to 5 gallons - this sound like an ok method?? It didnt come with instructions so Im not sure??

Ok I've been doing canned 'kit and kilo' kits for the past 4 years but my brew store has some new boxed extract kits. It came with 6lbs of malt extract 1lbs of liquid glucose - boiling hops, finishing hops, bag of specialty grain, grain bag ohhh and yeast.

I only have an 8 quart pot (8 liters) will i still be able to make the beer??? I was planning on adding 3LBS of malt and boil in the boiling hops then in the last 10 mins add the last 3 lbs of malt and the finishing hops.

then into the fermentor and top up to 5 gallons - this sound like an ok method?? It didnt come with instructions so Im not sure??

Yes, that will work just fine. Ideally, you'd have a bigger pot but if that's all you have, that will have to do. I'd use less extract at the beginning, as it may darken quite a bit on you in a limited amount of water, and add more at the end of the boil. I'd probably do 1 pound extract at the beginning and the rest near flame out. Use as much water as you can in the boil, without boiling over!