Thermometers

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Leblais

Reaction score
Hey guys... I posted in the equipment area but I think my question may be better suited to you guys.

I bought 3 blichmann weldless thermometers for my Keggle set up but since they are prone to breakage due to heat, I was thinking that there MUST be a better product.

What do you guys use for thermometers on your rigs?? What is the approx cost for 3 of them? What brands are best? Thermowells??

Any help would be appreciated

I've been using Blichmann thermometers on my HLT's for 3+ years. I've never had one break. Now, if you're using on a BK, then WHY? Boiling is boiling. I use a Cooper long probe in my BK while chilling/whirlpooling to monitor my progress and adjust pump flow if I think it's needed.

I use RTD's from Omega Engineering. In my HLT, mashing tun and kettles they are not in thermowells and have been whacked many time by my mash paddle but that doesn't seem to destroy them (as yet). In my fermenters they are in thermowells.

Boiling is boiling? I wish it were. I have recorded some amazing temperature profiles during 'boiling'. I can't explain them unless it is a lack of circulation in certain parts of the kettle for brief periods of time.

Boil kettle to monitor cooling. Not exceptionally necessary though I guess. Just seemed since I was going to put them on the other 2 why not have them all look similar. What kind of set up are you using? My base gets red hot when I am heating up my water and I dont want to risk drilling a hole in my Keggles just to have the thermometers break and then get another type of thermometer, which will most likely have a different size hole. A cooper long probe?? Ill check that out