SS plumbing

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fireguy94

Reaction score
Hi guys,

I wanted to ask a quick questions out before I move ahead with this plan. I have kals electric brewery setup (www.theelectricbrewery.com) and would like to hard pipe everything. I've used the silicon hoses and camlocks (he uses quickconnects) and have found them to be one of the minor frusturations. I stress minor cause I've been very happy with his design. Fortunately for me I'm a pipe fitter by trade and have access to a pipe threader. So my question is I've priced our Schedule 40 1/2" SS pipe and fittings and they are WAY cheaper that tubing and compression fittings. My only concern is the fact that its threaded which could cause more buildup in the piping. Is this something I should worry about. Its all on the hot side of the brew and I can CIP onces its all installed. I'll plumb it right into the domestic so I can flush all the lines and then put some sanitizer in to clean it. Cleaning is the main reason I'm wanting to hard pipe everything along with less hoses running from my sink to tanks. Do any of you see a problem with the threaded SS piping?

Matt

Even without hard plumbing, there's threaded fittings throughout a brewing setup. From the valves, to the chiller, pumps and connections, so I can't see why having threaded hard plumbing would be any different than anything else that's already running throughout the system.

I say go for it.

I agree, as long as you keep up with flushing/cleaning the setup straight away and not letting wort dry inside the pipe there should be no issues hardpiping. One thing I do suggest and it might make things easier is to consider how you are going to connect equipment that may need to be moved: kettles/mlt, pumps, etc.