Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Wine Making Forum > How much ginger?

Old 08-19-2013, 09:51 AM   #1
Phillvince
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 1

Default How much ginger?

Hi all,

Newbie here looking for some advice.

I've made three kits already so am a little familiar with the process, but this will be my first from scratch.

The recipe I am making is an orange wine as follows:

All purpose yeast
15 Oranges
Water (1 gal.)
1 tsp Pectolase
1 Campton Tablet
3 lb Granulated Sugar
2 Tsps Citric Acid
1 lvl tsp Yeast Nutrient

I would like to add ginger to flavour this to create an orange and ginger wine. I do not want the ginger to be overpowering but to be quite subtle. Here go the questions.

Would fresh or powdered ginger be recommended? Or a mixture of both?

How much would be recommended for a 1 gallon end product?

When would the best time to add the ginger? (the recipe calls for at least 2 racking processes to be completed before bottling. It can be drunk straight away but will mature with age.)

Thank you in advance.

{....
currently making: Kit bought chardonay

Currently drinking: Kit bought Elderflower
....}

Old 08-19-2013, 11:33 AM   #2
mrphillips
Recipes 

Liked 55 Times on 43 Posts
Likes Given: 18

My only experience with ginger is with beer, and 1/2 oz. in a 5-gallon batch is just right for my taste buds - helps the beer finish clean, and the actual ginger flavor was present but not overpowering.

For a gallon batch of wine, I would use 1/4 oz. Since wine needs to sit for a LOT longer than most beers, the ginger flavor will have a chance to mellow out IF you end up putting too much in. Good luck! Hope this was some help.

Old 08-19-2013, 12:08 PM   #3
DoctorCAD
Recipes 

Liked 67 Times on 62 Posts

Wine yeast, not all purpose yeast.

Old 08-21-2013, 08:37 AM   #4
Phillvince
Recipes