Trying to replicate Sussex ales -Ruddles County, etc.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

aaronlawson

Reaction score
Hey guys,
Note: title should day Suffolk, not Sussex!

This is my first post here (tried the introductions page, but after retyping the same intro stuff three times and having it get lost I decided to come here!!) I've been brewing since 1991, mostly with extract, though I want to get in to partial mash brewing soon.

I've "perfected" a few recipes that I think are as good as the best microbrewery beers (American pale ale and a dry stout are two that I've worked on). What I am currently obsessed with is the nouth of London (Suffolk) style of pale ale. I really love the balance of awesome malt aroma and taste and the subtle, earthy hop flavor and aroma of these beers, like Ruddles County, which is the beer I use as a benchmark for this style for convenience sake.

I'm looking for advice on replicating this style of beer. This could be hops (I know that Ruddles County uses Brambling Cross, which I don't have), water (I used water from my well), malt (especially mashable malts that I could add in a partial mash), yeast, etc.

My first attempt at this style is still maturing, so the final verdict isn't in yet, but so far it seems too bitter and has some diacetyl that I don't like (this came from over hasty bottling without a diacetyl rest which this yeast kind of requires.) The ABV is too low as well. In appearance, the beer is indistinguishable from Ruddles County. Here's the recipe for 5 gallons:

Name/Style: English Bitter
Date begun: 6/17/07

Ingredients
Malt
5 lbs Munton & Fison Extra Light DME
1 lb 40 L Crystal

Hops
1 oz Target @ 10 AAU 1 hour = 10 AAU
.5 oz Whole Leaf Kent Goldings @ 5 AAU 30 min = 2.5 AAU