any good ways to keep fermenter cool?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ekjohns

Reaction score
i am new to brewing and am planning a wheat beer which needs to be held around 65-76 degrees F. I live in an apartment and do not have access to a fridge at this temp and cannot get my air conditioning down that low (old apt). Is there any tricks to keeping it at this temp? My apartment will stay in the 70s with my air conditioner so it wont be a sig. drop down to 65. One thing i read was putting the class carboy in a large keg tub with water and place in frozen bottles of water. will this work? Any other ideas besides dropping $100 for a portable air conditioner? Remember i am a poor college student =0(

THANKS!

i am new to brewing and am planning a wheat beer which needs to be held around 65-76 degrees F. I live in an apartment and do not have access to a fridge at this temp and cannot get my air conditioning down that low (old apt). Is there any tricks to keeping it at this temp? My apartment will stay in the 70s with my air conditioner so it wont be a sig. drop down to 65. One thing i read was butting it in a large keg tub with water and place in frozen bottles of water. will this work? Any other ideas besides dropping $100 for a portable air conditioner? Remember i am a poor college student =0(

THANKS!

Place the fermentation vessel in a tub of water then cover with it with a T-shirt. Then put a fan near it. The shirt will wick the water and the fan will aide in evaporation thereby cooling your fermentor. This will cool it about five degrees below whatever your room temp is. :mug: