Palate Frustration

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

curlyfat

Reaction score
I've been brewing for 7+ years, and have tried to drink as many different commercial examples as humanly (and geographically) possible. In order to help my palate I even quit smoking about a year ago.

It seems as time goes on, I can smell less and less in beer and wonder if I've over saturated myself. Sort of like, I run a pizza shop, and can't smell the pizza anymore.

Is it possible that by drinking beer everyday I ruined my smeller and I need to reset my palate by not drinking for awhile? :( that would be unfortunate...

out of all the good reasons to quit smoking, you did so so you could drink more beer, lol!

j/k, i have nothing of value to add really.

You’re on the right track by tasting as much beer as possible but maybe you need to broaden your smell and taste sensory vocabulary. Beer contains many flavors, a lot of every day stuff and some odd and uncommon ones as well. My best advise is to understand these flavors outside of beer then incorporate them into whatever it is you’re drinking.

Additionally, the BJCP style guidelines have a lot to offer as far as flavors you should be finding.

I’d also recommend doing a vertical tasting of 3 or 4 beers in the same style and try to identify what subtleties make them different.

Ohhh!...congrats giving up smoking for such a noteworthy cause.

Good luck

Can you please define "vertical tasting?" I do have the BJCP guidelines printed and handy when I drink a new beer (or my beer).