what temp should I set my new chest freezer?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

802VermontHomebrew

Reaction score
Hey guys... I just bit the bullet and bought a chest freezer so I can keep my courney kegs chilled. I picked up the 9 cubic ft. kenmore chest freezer from sears (its the white one for 249.00) I was going to go for the black one but its the same exact one except 100.00 more expensive which I found a little over the top... Anywayyyyys the temp gauge reads settings 1-7 (7 being the coldest) Since I am a noob at this, just curious what to set the temp. to? Any advice would help me out thanks!

get a temp controller or build one using the DIY section, and turn the freezer to full cold, control your temp with the controller instead of a random dial, you dont want to freeze the beer solid! you want it at that ideal serving temp for your specific beer.

What you want is a temperature control unit that is separate from the freezer itself that turns the power off of the freezer when it gets too cold because I believe even on the warmest setting, a freezer gets too cold.

You need to invest $5 and get a refrigerator\freezer thermometer. The dial on the freezer itself is not going to be a very good indicator of what the inside temperature is.

where can i find a good temp. controller? Depending on how hard it is to make one I could possibly do that too I just have never done that before....

I have a Johnson Controls 7051 thermostat which should do exactly what you want.
It works fine, but I switched to a digital version. If you want it for $30.00 (shipping included), send me a PM.

-a.