Please help this nOOb

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Helmy

Reaction score
I am new to homebrewing and have a question. I brewed a batch on Monday. I put it into the carboy around Noon. When i poured the wort in thru the funnel, I later noticed there was a screen on it and all the solids had collected. I wasnt sure what to do so i threw them into the carboy. Also my air conditioning was out for a day which caused the room temp to be around 85 degrees or so. so now its Wed. and the beer is showing no signs of fermentation. There is also alot of solids sitting at the bottom of the carboy. Pry the bottom 2 and a half inches is solids. Is it ok? Did i mess it up? If i did is there any way to fix it? any advice would be welcomed.

You probably didn't mess it up but next time don't add the solids back in (I'm guessing it was mostly hops). It should not be an issue that they are sitting at the bottom of the carboy.

As for the temp, this is more of a concern. Hot fermentation temps lead to the development of fusels and easters that produce unwanted flavors. Wrap a wet towel around the fermenter or submerge it in a tub of ice water to bring the temp down. You can also do a search on various cooling methods on the forum (there has been a lot of discussion on this lately).