Cost and Commitment

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nitch

Reaction score
I am a complete newb to homebrew. I would be starting from scratch, and I was wondering what the cost would be starting from having nothing to bottling beer. I am sure this is a complicated question to answer due to the many variables possible, so think of it from the "medium" or "average" perspective, as in a medium sized of average quality kit, and so on. Also think of it in terms of what you consider the best place to start for a begginer. I have read a lot about the different steps and ingredients in brewing but rarely is a price attached.

On top of that, what kind of commitment is it once you begin? I mean this in regards to Time, Space needed, Stress, Smells, Maintenance, and so on.

I understand that I may be asking a difficult question since there are a number of options and ways to do things, but any suggestions and answers will be helpful and appreaciated.

You need to do some more reading.

The first commitment is time and understanding.

Decide what level you'd like to take the brewing. This will decide the time involved. Then decide a budget.

Then you can choose the right equipment to suit you.

You can make a brew in 30 minutes or a brew in 8 hours.
You can spend $50 to $10000 on equipment.

Normal an example of progression is...

Mr Beer kit and ingredients.

5 gallon pail fermenters and extract and steep.

Glass carboys/ Better bottled mini mash......

Full blown AG.