Just realized a possible error

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brewno

Reaction score
Before brewing my first batch I was sure I studied everything. All went well and I made sure to sanitize anything that would come in contact with the brew. I even sanitized my hands. After all the reading I did I never noticed (until now, and quite by accident) that you are supposed to sanitize the yeast packet and scissors.

At this point I'm not even sure if I used scissors or tore the packet open, I think I used scissors. Either way I didn't sanitize the packet or scissors.

Is this that big of a deal or just an extra precaution?

Tommy

Nah...Shouldn't be. I have never sanitized the packet and have forgotten to sanitize the scissors every time but once. Haven't had a problem yet.

Honestly, you can take the sanitation thing as far as you want to, but I'm not sure there is an actual need to sanitize the yeast package and the scissors. I've never done it and never had a bad batch (that was bad by contamination and not poor planning).

We may need to look at the term sanitation as it applys to brewing. Palmer on sanitation:

"Sanitize - To kill/reduce spoiling microorganisms to negligible levels."

There you have it, we are not sterilizing or making things completely free from microorganisms, but rather reducing them to a manageable level.

Relax a bit, you'll be having a home brew soon enough!:)

No need to worry at all. In 10-plus years I've never sanatized yeast packet or scissors and never had a problem. The sanitizing thing can be done to different degrees - it's all up to how much work you want to put in...or how annal you are.