High final gravity

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pavlovsdog

Reaction score
Beautiful Mountains of Western North Carolina
Hello everyone! I am new to homebrewing, completing my third batch. With this batch I used 9.9 lbs of extract and 4 pounds of honey (1.084 original gravity). I left in the primary for ten days, and then racked to the secondary. After two more weeks in the secondary, my sg is at 1.032 (61% attenuation). I used Muntons Gold dry yeast. So, are the reasons for this stall (there is no current evidence of fermentation): 1)the yeast simply gave out to soon 2)I needed yeast nutrients because of the honey comprising 28% of the sugars 3)honey takes longer to ferment so I need to wait longer 4)all of the above.

Also, could I repitch? If so, should I make a starter?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I have thoroughly enjoyed and learned from the wisdom of you all!! :)

i would have left it in the primary for longer than that, with that high of an OG.

how many gallons is this batch? for a five gallon, your og should have been much higher than that...more like 1.100 or higher

If it is a 5 gallon batch with that OG, you'd be at 74% attenuation right now.
wow...what are you making? :drunk:

hey Pav,