DME for Starter

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kingmatt

Hop Addict
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Hello all, noob here with my first post! Love the site and have learned a lot about the brewing process so far, so thanks.

I am planning my first ever brew on Friday and am planning on making my starter on Tuesday night. I have read a few articles, and watched some videos on how to make a starter, but have a question about what DME to use. I know you want a light malt extract and am brewing a Kobayashi Wheat as my first brew, which call for 6lbs of "plain wheat" extract. Should I just use a cup of this for my starter or should I use a cup of a separate light DME?

Sorry if the question sounds stupid but I don't want to mess up the brew by using too little or too much DME with the addition of my starter.

Thanks in advance for the advice :mug:

I think either would be fine. Usually Wheat extract is 35% barley malt anyway. I personally use light DME for all of my starters.

Edit: And a full cup is too much. 3/4 cup in 1 quart should give you a gravity of 1.040 which is ideal for a starter.

Hello all, noob here with my first post! Love the site and have learned a lot about the brewing process so far, so thanks.

I am planning my first ever brew on Friday and am planning on making my starter on Tuesday night. I have read a few articles, and watched some videos on how to make a starter, but have a question about what DME to use. I know you want a light malt extract and am brewing a Kobayashi Wheat as my first brew, which call for 6lbs of "plain wheat" extract. Should I just use a cup of this for my starter or should I use a cup of a separate light DME?