When to give up on your LHBS?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm the FIRST person to try my hardest to support local businesses, but i'm having a hard time with my LHBS. I'm a pretty big noob, so i don't have a frame of reference longer than about a month, but i just placed a pretty big online order and i don't think i'll be going back. first problem is hours. they're only open 4 days a week. second is the service. the auto siphon i bought there broke on my second use (the little plastic piece in the bottom came out), so i took it back to exchange it. the owner tried to fix it for 15 minutes, then ignored me for 15 minutes when another customer came in, only they weren't a customer, they were there to chat about some random nonsense. when i politely interrupted to explain that i'd simply like a replacement i was accused of "taking it apart". i explained that, no, it simply broke while i was using it. at that point i got an "oh, uh, well, yeah, just grab a new one off the shelf". lastly, i stopped by last week on a day that they're suppose to be open to find a sign on the door that simply said " on vacation". that's great, congratulations! everyone deserves a little time off. how about a date you'll next be open. how about a "sorry for the inconvenience". combine that with the mediocre advice (let's face it, the collective here is far smarter than any brew master) and i think i'm done shopping there, unless i'm having a brew day emergency and i must have something right away. i've never had a business make it so hard for me to give them my money!!

comments/experiences appreciated.