Cream Ale extract help??

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mdawson9

Reaction score
Hi, I recently tried Narragansett's Cream Ale and loved it! Never been a big fan of that style but it's probably the best cream ale I've tasted. I want to brew an extract version. Since I'm a total newbie, can anyone suggest the extract subs for the fermentables? I'd also love any input on the ale yeast for lagering and length of lagering (I do have a temp controlled mini-fridge). Thanks so much! Their website says:

"5% Alcohol by Volume and 28 IBUs. Gansett Cream is our first year-round craft style and is a perfect example of a Pre-Prohibition cream ale — only slightly hoppier. Gansett Cream is made with quality ingredients like 2-row pale, Munich, Vienna, and Cara-malt for a creamy head! We used Columbus hops for bittering and a touch of Willamette hops for a slight hop aroma. Bright gold in color and brilliant in clarity, this session ale delivers an extra pop of hop bitterness found only in cream ales of the early 1900′s. Our cream ale was brewed with an ale yeast and lagered at 38 degrees for a clean, crisp finish.

I would suggest you google for a clone recipe. The description gives very little information on what is in the beer.

the last cream ale I brewed looked like this:

3 Lbs Liquid Malt Extract

4 Lbs Pale 2-Row
0.25LB Cara-pils
0.5 Lb Vienna
0.5 Lb Corn Grits

2 oz cascades ( I believe 1 oz at 60 and 1 oz at 5)

It's delicious!

kwingert said:
I would suggest you google for a clone recipe. The description gives very little information on what is in the beer.