Mash Control - Toe the Automation Line

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mydementia

Reaction score
I've been brewing for 17 years... just went all grain this January. I've done 20 batches so far... and am really enjoying the improvement in quality and ease of experimentation. My biggest frustration with my 10-gallon gatoraid cooler mash tun is temperature control... I've had temperature drops over 7 degrees in an hour (like my last brew) and gradiants as much as 10 degrees across the mash (like the brew before that). I've had it... I want control!

I recently ordered parts to do a direct-fired, recirculated mash (false bottom, connectors, any-way hose) and will do the maiden brew this weekend. I expect that I'll be turning the burner on and off several times thorughout the mash and am already thinking of how to automate the process.

There are several threads about building a Brutus 10, using the Brewtroller, and using the BCS-460, but I haven't seen too many discussing component selection (PID's, TC's, valves, etc.) for a single vessel control system...

Here's what I'm thinking for my setup...
1) Direct heat HLT - no control required
2) Direct heat BK - no control required
3) Direct heat MLT, recirc, automate control
- PID Control (like Auber SYL-2342 (has relay output))
- TC (like Auber WRNK-171 (K-Type, 6" probe)
- Solenoid gas valve (like Valves4Projects Echotech S20V-1/4-CD-120VAC)
- Need to find a thermowell and figure out a safe/effective way to run a pilot light... I'm thinking a secondary valve off the main gas line with a small capilary tube...
- I'd likely build the PID into my pump toolbox and use an XLR jack for the TC input.