brewing really high quality beer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

luvinit

Reaction score
I am a noob brewer,and have only bottled 2 batches to date,and have 1 in the primary both brews were drinkable but had a distant taste that I cant describe although the taste was similar in both brews,one was a holiday ale and 1 was an octoberfest,both brewers best kits,my question is what is the secret to making commercial quality micro brew? I am fermenting in plastic, should it be glass? does it matter? partial boil is what I am doing is it ok? I am following directions to the t ,all readings come out proper I am drinking the brew after 1 month primary 2 weeks in bottle is this wrong?any advice would be appreciated

Time, Temperature, Sanitation, Patience. Plastic is fine. Partial boils are fine. Biggest leap my beers made was when I was able to control the fermentation temperature. BIG improvement there.

The off taste may be from the extract. Did you use LME or DME? LME can produce an off taste.

and +1 to
Time, Temperature, Sanitation, Patience. Plastic is fine. Partial boils are fine. Biggest leap my beers made was when I was able to control the fermentation temperature. BIG improvement there.

The 2 biggest factors that helped my beer improve were:

1) Yeast - pitching at the proper rate for the type of yeast and SG of my brew.
2) Temperature - proper temperature control during the fermentation process.

This is where I would start. There is tons of info in this forum to help you control these factors. Remember that brewing great beer is a matter of controlling variables. The better control you have of those variables the better beer you will produce.