Sweet sparkling cider help?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HauserHooch

Reaction score
So I have a few gallons of Apple cider fermenting and this is my first time making cider. I am wanting to make a somewhat sweet sparkling cider but I dont want to use artificial sweetener. So I am planning to back sweeten when bottling and Waiting for carbonation to build up and then stove top paturize before all of the sugar is gone. So I was wondering if I could get some insight as to how much sugar I should add? What kind of sugar? And most importantly how long should I wait before I pasturize? So that it is sweet but not a still cider. Thanks for any help.

>How much sugar should you use

This would vary depending on how sweet you wanted it to be. Your definition of semi sweet could be different form somebody else so I would experiment with this yourself.

>What kind of sugar

Pretty much any sugar will work. Lots of people use brown sugar or cane sugar. Another is apple juice concentrate. Most people use 2-3 cans per 5 gallons of cider, depending on desired sweetness. Old Orchard makes an apple cherry concentrate. I bought an apple cherry and apple passion mango to see which one i liked better and I thought the apple passion mango was really tasty so I might end up using that. The apple cherry tasted too berry-ish for me.

>How long should I wait